Make a Gift

The Builders Awards

Established by the Association of Rice Alumni and the Rice Annual Fund in 2005, the Builders Awards recognition program honors young alumni who have made outstanding contributions to Rice post-graduation and enhanced the reputation of Rice through leadership in their careers or communities. Past winners include notable regional alumni leaders, Annual Fund volunteers, affinity group trailblazers and other young alumni who are committed to supporting Rice and its community of students and alumni through their dedication of time, talent and energy. We invite you to recognize young alumni who are building a better future for the university by nominating candidates for the award.

The 2018 Builders Award recipients were honored at the Association of Rice Alumni Laureates Awards Dinner on May 12, 2018, at the River Oaks Country Club.

2018 Builders Awards Recipients

Teddy Bucher '08

Teddy Bucher

Teddy Bucher (Jones ’08) is currently a first-year student at the Jesse H. Jones Graduate School of Business at Rice, pursuing his MBA with a focus in strategy and finance. This summer, he will serve as an intern with McKinsey & Co. in its Houston office, and hopes to continue to pursue a full-time career in management consulting upon graduation.

Having majored in chemical engineering while an undergraduate student at Rice, Teddy worked primarily in the energy and chemical industries — most recently with Cognascents Consulting Group — as a specialist in process safety engineering prior to attending business school. During his time with Cognascents, he served on and led analysis teams for projects ranging from detailed safety system engineering design to high-level, site-wide disaster response and risk assessment, with the ultimate goal of minimizing the frequency and severity of industrial accidents at refineries, chemical plants and other production facilities.

In his spare time, Teddy is an active volunteer in the Houston Rice alumni community, serving as a member of the Association of Rice Alumni Board of Directors, on the board of Rice Alumni Pride, as a volunteer for the Rice Annual Fund and reunion giving chair for his fifth and 10th reunion giving campaigns, as a regional captain for Rice Alumni Volunteers for Admission, and as a Jones College Associate — including as a captain of the Jones College Alumni Beer Bike team. He has also served as a volunteer for the Houston Area Women’s Center.

Priya G. Prasad '08

Priya Prasad

Priya G. Prasad (Jones '08) is an intellectual property (IP) attorney with Exxon Mobil Corp. in Baytown, Texas, where she manages the global IP portfolio for the butyl and adhesion businesses and also serves as India IP lead attorney. She was born in Melbourne, Australia, and moved to Texas during middle school. While studying chemical engineering at Rice, Priya was awarded the Rice Engineering Alumni Senior Merit Award and was part of a team that won the William W. Akers Senior Design Award in Chemical Engineering.

After graduating, Priya worked as a process engineer for Chevron Corporation in California where she provided technical services and on-site support for licensed hydroprocessing units in Europe, Asia and Africa. Shortly thereafter, Priya returned to Texas and obtained a J.D. from the University of Houston Law Center. After graduating, she became engaged with the legal community and has held leadership positions and presented on IP topics at the local, state, national and international levels. In recognition of her professional accomplishments, Priya was recently selected by Rice as a Future Energy Leader for CERAWeek 2018.

As an advocate for girls’ education, Priya was responsible for organizing events at patent offices and companies around the country to expose girls and young women to IP and science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) disciplines via the Girl Scouts IP Patch. She also volunteers her time as a pro bono attorney in the Houston area. Within the Rice community, Priya has volunteered for the Rice Alumni Volunteers for Admission and has served on panels such as Engineering Your Career and Women LEAD Young Alumnae. Since 2014, Priya has served on the Rice Engineering Alumni (REA) Board of Directors and is currently president of the board. Rice’s oldest alumni affinity group, REA is dedicated to recognizing outstanding achievements within the Rice engineering community, supporting students through over $150,000 in scholarships and grants annually, and fostering connections among alumni, students, faculty and staff. During Priya’s tenure on the board, REA has revitalized its social media presence and communication channels through monthly newsletters, fostered stronger ties with students by including a student liaison position on the board and pledged $50,000 for upgrades to the mechanical engineering labs. Priya is proud to be an Owl and is excited about continuing to give back to Rice in the future.


Builders Nomination Form

We are now accepting nominations for 2019. To nominate a young alumni leader from the classes of 2008–2018, please use the link below. Nominations for 2019 must be submitted by January 4, 2019.

Submit a nomination

2018 Builders Awards Selection Committee

  • Alicia Burns-Wright '08 Co-Chair
  • George Webb '88 Co-Chair
  • Ryan Aipperspach ’04    
  • Kathleen Barker '13
  • Taylor Brooks '17             
  • Robert Dahnke '09
  • Lynn Fahey MA '15         
  • Ryan George '11
  • Kate Gunn Pagel '05
  • Kate Hallaway '04, '13
  • Arianna Hatchett '12
  • Kurt Kasper PhD '06
  • John Muller '14
  • Clement Pang '07
  • Felisa Reynolds '00, '02
  • Isabel Scher '16
  • Julie Yau-Yee Tam '03
  • Kaleen Tison Povis '05
  • Daniel Williamson '08
Back to Top