Make a Gift

Laureates Award

The Laureates Awards Program was created by the Association of Rice Alumni in 1937 to recognize highly distinguished individuals for extraordinary achievements and contributions to their professions, local communities and Rice University. Every year, three major awards celebrate outstanding Rice alumni and friends of the university, including the Meritorious Service Award, the Distinguished Alumni Award and the Gold Medal, the highest possible honor by the Association of Rice Alumni for service to the university.

About the Awards

Gold Medal

The highest award presented by the Association of Rice Alumni, the Gold Medal recognizes those who have rendered extraordinary service to the university. Each recipient must demonstrate one or more of the following criteria: outstanding service in promoting the ideals of the founders of the university, exceptionally deep dedication to and advancement of the academic excellence of the university, or uncommon generosity of time and means in support of the university. Although preference is given to living nominees, posthumous nominations also are accepted. Submit a nomination for the Gold Medal Award.

Distinguished Alumni Award

This award is presented to alumni who have advanced the interests and standards of excellence of Rice University through distinctive professional or volunteer careers. It is reserved for those who attended the university as an undergraduate or graduate student for a period of at least one year and are living at the time of consideration. No one who has received the Gold Medal may subsequently be awarded the Distinguished Alumni Award. Submit a nomination for the Distinguished Alumni Award.

Meritorious Service Award

This award recognizes those who have made significant, sustained and voluntary contributions of energy, time and creativity toward the advancement of the university. Alumni, active or retired faculty, staff, administrators and friends of Rice who are living at the time of their selection are eligible. No one who has received the Gold Medal may subsequently be awarded the Meritorious Service Award. Submit a nomination for the Meritorious Service Award.

Laureates Nomination Form

Thank you to all who submitted nominations for the 2018 Laureates Awards. If you would like to submit a nomination for the 2019 awards, please do so by September 28, 2018.

Submit a Nomination

Selected honorees are announced in early spring and are honored each year at the annual Laureates Dinner on the evening of Commencement. If you have any questions regarding the nominations process, please contact Tara Quell, Assistant Director, Alumni Relations at 713-348-4694 or

Explore Laureates 2018 on Flickr

2018 Laureates Awards

Laureates Selection Committee

  • Matt Haynie ’03, Committee Chair
  • Maury Bronstein MBA ’97
  • Paula Desel ’81
  • Michol Ecklund '97
  • Nancy Eubank ’55
  • Kevin Gass ’89
  • Anudeep Jain '85
  • Akilah Mance ’05
  • Alberto Montesi Ph.D. '05
  • Robert Taylor ’74
  • John E. Wolf, Jr. ’61
  • Marthe D. Golden, Executive Director, Association of Rice Alumni
Back to Top