Thank you for attending Raíces a Ramas: Cincuenta Años Gala!

Thank you for joining us for the Raíces a Ramas: Cincuenta Años Gala and for helping to celebrate 50 years of Latinx and Hispanic life at Rice!

We were so pleased to honor Dr. Richard Tapia for his founding contributions to student life and to raise funding for the Raíces a Ramas Endowment to enhance cultural programming.

Celebrating 50 Years

SOLAR Photos

The Raíces a Ramas (Roots to Branches) Gala is part of a yearlong celebration of Latinx and Hispanic life at Rice, marking 50 years since the establishment of the Rice Association of Mexican American Students (RAMAS). RAMAS, founded by Dr. Richard Tapia and 16 members in 1972, evolved to become the Hispanic Association for Cultural Enrichment at Rice (HACER) and served as the impetus and genesis for the five other Rice Latinx and Hispanic student organizations that exist today: the Latin American Graduate Student Association (LAGSA), the university’s chapter of the Society of Hispanic Professional Engineers (SHPE), the Latin Business Student Association (LBSA), Mariachi Luna Llena, and Rice Salseros.

As we envision the next 50 years, we are pleased to launch the Raíces a Ramas Endowment to promote cultural programming as well as personal and leadership development that celebrates Latinx and Hispanic life. The Endowment will support initiatives, activities and events that further SOLAR’s missions.

Gala Leadership

Sofia Adrogué ’88, Honorary Chair
David D. Medina ’83. Honorary Co-Chair
Fernanda Pierre ’14, Chair & SOLAR President

A message from the Honorary Chairs


Raíces a Ramas: Cincuenta Años Gala


6:30 p.m. Reception • 7:00 p.m. Dinner
River Oaks Country Club

Dr. Richard Tapia and The Tapia Center

Keynote Speaker Germaine Franco '84

Germaine Franco ’84
Oscar nominee for best original score

View sponsorship opportunities and register by Oct. 10

Registration is now closed.

If you cannot attend the event but would like to support the
Raíces a Ramas Endowment, please make your gift here.

We have been informed that we will no longer be able to include the VIP reception as part of the experience our VIP sponsors funded due to a coinciding event at the intended VIP reception space. In the spirit of inclusion and excellence, funds originally intended for the VIP reception will go towards upgrading the general reception space and upgrading the ballroom space for all guests.

Honorary Host Committee

Judy Ley Allen

Dr. José Aranda

Hon. Caroline Baker Hurley

Dr. Alexander X. Byrd

Dorothy Caram, Ed.D.

James Casey

Dr. Anne Chao

Jim Crownover

José Luis Cruz Jr.

Dr. Yvonne Romero Da Silva

Paula DesRoches

President Reginald DesRoches

Elizabeth Gillis

Susanne M. Glasscock

Sten Gustafson

Mikki Hebl

Robert T. Ladd

President Emeritus David W. Leebron

Ana María Martinez

Dr. W. Caleb McDaniel

Dr. Nicolás A. Medina

Hon. Annise Parker

Dean Peter Rodriguez

Juliet Stipeche

Y. Ping Sun

Dr. Richard A. Tapia

Bobby Tudor

Dr. Ruth N. López Turley

Geraldina Interiano Wise

Planning Committee

Leslie Barrera '13

Estevan Delgado '13

Ariana Engles ’20

Myrna Garza '16

Ricardo Mercado '10

Angelica Razo '16

Nella Garcia Urban '03

Student Organizations

SOLAR Student Organizations



Georgiana B. Ladd & Robert T. Ladd

Caroline Baker Hurley & Bruce Hurley in Honor of Sofia Adrogué
Mikki Hebl & David Harvey
Phoebe Tudor & Bobby Tudor

Kylie Casey & James Casey
Nella Garcia Urban & Pierre Urban with YES Prep Public Schools
Terrence Gee of behalf of the Association of Rice University Black Alumni
Susanne Glasscock & Cheryl Ballard
George Y. Gonzalez, Partner at Haynes Boone, L.L.P.
Kathleen & Travis Johnson
Juliet Stipeche
The Tapia Center for Excellence and Equity in Education
Geraldina Interiano Wise & Scott W. Wise
Rice University Development & Alumni Relations
Rice University Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Office of the Provost
Rice University History Department
Rice University Jesse H. Jones Graduate School of Business
Rice University Office of Enrollment
Rice University Office of Public Affairs

Dr. Pamela Barrera & Jacob A. Liang
Leslie & Brad Bucher
Dr. Yvonne Romero DaSilva
Elizabeth Gillis
Jessica & Colby Keithan
Peggy & Dr. Stephen Klineberg
Sophie & David Leal
Y. Ping Sun & President Emeritus David W. Leebron
Armando & Daniel Perez
Drs. Ruth N. López Turley & Steven Turley

Dr. Matthew Andrade Cheney
Lynn Lednicky
Rita Lee

Rice University Facilities, Engineering, & Planning
Schulman, Lopez, Hoffer & Adelstein, L.L.P.

If you cannot attend the event but would like to support the
Raíces a Ramas Endowment, please make your gift here.

SOLAR Event Logo